Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

North Berwick Law, Morning Bike Ride

While it is still quite icy at my house, today is feeling a wee bit warmer, and the weather tomorrow looks a wee bit wintry, I go for a bike ride to snow free East Lothian.

The roads are pretty clear of ice, apart from occasional puddle which are easy enough to steer around. The Innocent cycle path is also relatively ice free. The route is down to Musselburgh, then the coast road through Prestonpans, Cockenzie and Port Seton and Aberlady. As I head east, the temperature also rises, and at Musselburgh, it is above 0. At Aberlady I turn off the coast road here and take the back roads to West Fenton. There are some larger puddles to avoid, the gritter lorry has done a just enough to stop the frost forming.

On the B1345, I head north to the coast road. I stop at the top of the hill to take a photo of North Berwick Law.

On the coast road, I head west to Gullane and back to Aberlady. There is a headwind, so the cycling is head down. Even so, it is exhausting, but not as icy as it was three weeks ago. Soon I'm in Musselburgh, then retracing my tracks along the cycle path to Edinburgh. Some of the icy puddles are slushy, but I avoid them just in case. When I get home, I have cycled 75.6km.

After lunch, there's time for a quick walk before my daughter arrives to stay for a few days. The house won't be too quiet for a wee while then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.