Light & sight

By CameronDP

West

These are the final few flickering embers of sunset from Knaresborough Castle. Just over those trees is that throbbing, pulsing metropolis that never sleeps: Harrogate. Well, alright, I might be exaggerating just a smidge there...
Just a few moments after I took this photo a teenage girl came up and regaled me with a tale of woe. She and her boyfriend had been wandering around the castle grounds, she had left her handbag on a bench and come back just a few moments later to find it frustratingly gone. She looked maybe 17. Of course she wanted to know if I had seen anybody who might have taken it. Sadly I hadn't. I had seen a few people out of the corner of my eye while on my blip hunt but certainly nobody that I could pick out of a police lineup. All I could suggest was that they tried the police station just around the corner, but it turned out they had already been over there and found it bizarrely closed. As her boyfriend, who looked even younger than her, wandered up the only remaining useful thing I could think of to say was: remember to cancel your bank cards. She looked shocked. 'Oh I hadn't even thought of that! It's got my bank card, my money, my coursework, everything!'. But she looked resigned rather than devastated. They wandered off hand in hand, her no doubt wondering what she was going to tell Mum and Dad. Anyways, I hope whichever light-fingered miscreant half-inched her bag has an attack of conscience and turns themselves in. Or it just shows up. It's reportedly purple, by the way. Her bag that is.
I then retired to a nearby fish N chip emporium and was charged no less than £9.50 for an undercooked and tasteless piscine repast, two slices of buttered bread and a glass of flat Coca Cola. I can't say I will really be recommending that particular establishment to other diners.
And a happy Saturday to you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.