Swirling Seas & Swooping Swallows

We continued north on the Princes Highway. Mostly the route is flanked by tall Eucalyptus, interspersed with beautiful big sandy coastal bays, including Eden where we stopped for lunch.

Mid afternoon we took a pause at one point for me to photograph roadside flowers (my family humour me lol!)... where the noise of cicadas was almost unbelievably loud.

Our aim was Narooma North and an evening boat trip to Montague Island to watch the penguins coming in to nest. Sadly the trip was cancelled, as a storm was brewing off shore. Even in the bay the clouds were swirling impressively in dark patterns. (Extra - I’ve deleted one from earlier in the year to make space)

Disappointed, we made the best of looking for wildlife along the bay boardwalk: this swallow was resting on one of the boardwalk uprights and I crept surprisingly close enough for a detailed shot. I’ve never seen one still enough to capture before and marvelled at it’s strong colours. There were a lot of extremely well camouflaged crabs too if we looked hard enough.

Philosophy Friday
The A1 Princes Highway offers hours of pondering; phone signal being weak and internet service almost non existent... and so it is that I’ve been pondering plans for next year. I’m going to be very busy so this little PF moves me towards a new year’s resolution to be more efficient.

Lose an hour in the morning and you will spend all day looking for it.
Richard Whately

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.