Ta da! Look What I Made!

I know it’s not the finest example of meticulous Haute Couture tailoring, but I’ve hardly done any sewing at all since I left school, and believe me, that was a very long time ago.  To date, my sewing machine has really only been used to hem jeans, and every time I use it I have to get the manual out as I can’t remember how to thread it!  I also haven’t had to insert a zip since my school days either, so I was rather pleased with how my cushion cover turned out.
 
I saw the beautiful Sanderson fabric remnant at a car boot sale in the summer, it was one of those lengths of fabric you get in curtain shops that hangs from a sample board.  It only cost £2 and it is lovely quality.  So, with the additional cost of a zip and the cushion pad itself, the whole thing only cost me £7, and the process of making it was very satisfying.
 
I have a number of old cushions in the loft which no longer go with my colour schemes, so, spurred on by my success, I think I’ll be rummaging around for some more remnants for covers to give them a new lease of life for the daybed in the spare room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.