Off the beaten track (Day 966)

I was off out with the dogs before it was light this morning, the dogs adorned in new, light up, collars. It made them so much easier to see as they charged around in the heather.
Back home there was time for coffee before I took  my  beautiful wife off to work. I trundled home and got on with a couple of things around the house before heading out with the woofers again around lunchtime. HV has been taking the dogs a walk along a very quiet single track road which is bounded by heather covered hills on either side. I decided to take the dogs there today, and as I ambled along, I noticed a track disappearing off up one of the hills. Despite it being quite wet, and in places icy, I followed the dogs up it until it stopped amongst some peat banks. I was nearly at the top of the hill so pushed on through the heather, to be rewarded with a view over Kirkwall in the east and Hoy in the west. It was grand to be somewhere new and to see new views. 
The dogs enjoyed themselves doing a little ice skating on a frozen pool, see the extras. Sigyn hasn't really encountered much in the way of snow and ice and she was fascinated as she slid around. 
Another extra is a panoramic mobile phone shot of the view from the top of the hill.
The rest of the afternoon was spent pottering in the house, organising a surprise for HV for when I collect her from work. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.