Eurasian Jay

We've two or three pairs of these lovely birds that visit the garden but they're so quick usually that they're quite difficult to capture.  We always have seed and suet etc out on the feeders but today I had some crusts of bread which rather than let go to waste I put out on the lawn.  It didn't take long for them to deal with it but I was surprised that one of them kept picking up a pieces, hopping to a wall where there are trailing plants and hiding it, pushing it down as far as he could and then pulling the leaves to try and conceal it.  I Googled to check and yes this is a trait of the Jay.   I suppose as Blippers are a well informed lot, this will be no big surprise - but I really enjoyed watching what was to me unusual behaviour. :-))

Thank you for visiting my journal and for the lovely comments, stars and hearts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.