The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Waiting

...for new year!

Putting off cleaning out a slightly damp cupboard. Taken out a load of towels and washed them, identified one item for the charity shop, but left the rest. At this rate it'll take the whole of next year. Steve stayed up late last night finishing a fiendishly difficult jigsaw, so we've started another one, on which I had done some ore-sorting. (It's a bad habit of mine: starting a puzzle and putting it away after a bit of sorting).

I'm also trying to work on a story for a public performance, so I've been reading The Moth, this is a true story, which comprises 50 stories from the Moth Radio Hour (broadcasting weekly on a radio station near you. In the UK it's on BBC radio 4 extra at 11 am on Sundays). Obviously I've never been to a bullfight with Hemingway, nor played Moonlight Sonata to Tajik soldiers on a piano they were trying to smash up, but we all have something...

Later, I went for a walk up the Horns valley, where I spotted this new, rather fancy bench, overlooking the field and the incipient sunset. I've played with it, just for fun. The walk turned into an uphill mud-ski challenge, but I only slipped once, giving my left hand a Cotswold clay treatment (a bit like the Glastonbury leg and foot treatment).

I also got an idea for a story, as I was passing the house called the Heavens, trying not to slip, and I made my way back down into our valley, over the stream and up the steep steep path, into the house, just before darkness fell. I did feel as if I'd been on a mudbear hunt.

We shall go up to the pub for the midnight fireworks, and have some friends over afterwards. Only two, so not an officiall party.

My great sorrow is that I've only just discovered Jarvis Cocker's Sunday Service on BBC radio 6, and it's the last show ever!

By the way, after solving the juicer cone mystery ( see yesterday's blip), I contacted customer services to tell them I'd found the missing part. I received the following reply:

Dear,

We are glad you found it.

Your satisfaction is invaluable to us.
We will be at your service all the time.

Regards,

Customer Service Team


My thoughts on this:
Hurrah! At last I've solved The Servant Problem!

Happy NY folks, see you on the other side...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.