what comes around goes around

Following on from yesterday's blip, the silage is last year's grass, the feeder is last year's silage sacks, the cattle are next year's dinner (for somebody, not me). All the best to those who start veganuary tomorrow :-) 

Today I continued on my exploration of Core Path 64, the old coffin path from Shawhead to Irongray. There is no church in Shawhead, and before the Irongray Hearse Society was formed in 1815, coffins were carried on foot over this path (the old Kirk Pad) , the dykes en route constructed with through stones to form steps. My gggg grandfather, James Jardine, was a joiner and made all the coffins locally. His son-in-law built the house we live in now, and James died here in 1825.

The fields on either side of the path are used to graze stock and I was almost as muddy as these cattle by the time I'd walked it! 

Tonight D  and I are celebrating Hogmanay by walking up to the top of the hill, from where we will see any fireworks for miles around. Then we will have a nip of Ardbeg and settle down for the final bivvy of 2017.

See you on the other side :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.