New Year's Eve Lamb

I took myself to Blue House Farm nature reserve by the River Crouch for a change of scenery and the chance to give the yellow S2000 a bit of a blast. I noticed something small and light moving in the corner of a field full of dirty sheep. It was a lamb, which then gambolled up onto the sea wall with a group of ewes. A spring lamb kicking up its heels is an uplifting sight full of promise on New Year's Eve. :)

Hardly anyone about on the reserve. I shared a hide with a nice bloke for a while and we got lots of shots of a marsh harrier but unfortunately it wasn't very close. I knew before I left home that rain was on the cards and got caught in a sharp squall on the way back to the car. I took some of my wet clothes off and enjoyed sitting in the S with the heater on full and sipping coffee as I dried out.

The last poem of 2017 is I Stood on a Tower by Alfred Lord Tennyson. http://blog.thereader.org.uk/2008/12/29/featured-poem-i-stood-on-a-tower-by-alfred-lord-tennyson/

Describes my afternoon perfectly. I'm looking forward to the "New Year blowing and roaring." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.