Back To The Wall And Screwed On NYD

It wasn't just me that got soaked yesterday, my kit did too. The long lens is still fogged on the boiler. The body seems OK with the 100mm macro lens on after a spell on there. This didn't leave much time for a blip shot. I had my back against the wall and was screwed. My EB is appropriately wall screw-moss, Tortula muralis, catching the final afternoon rays.

This cushion moss was once scarce and originally grew on limestone and sandstone. It's now much more common and is found in towns and cities on mortared walls, roof tiles and concrete. It is unaffected by pollution. 

I enjoyed posting a Poem A Day through 2017 from the book my sister gave me, even though it did become a bit of a chore at times. (Once I've started something I have to finish it.) My daughter has given me Wonderland, A Year of Britain's Wildlife Day By Day this year and I shall be quoting from that on occasion. My sister has bought Other-wordly for me and some of the strange and lovely words from that will feature. I'll also return to quoting my favourite poet John Clare.     
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.