Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

A quiet start to the new year

We heard someone set off fireworks at midnight and then all was peaceful. Trev cooked breakfast, a tradition we must keep up. We have just sat around reading most of the day with the odd phone call or text sending good wishes for  the coming year.
I sat down the back on my stool as the birds called at the feeder. The tuis have been flat out all day with hardly a stop. I realised the wax eyes have gone bush and the small birds busy drinking and bathing are sparrows.
The blackbird sitting on the cucumber frame was my best photo today with a tui making the extra. A juvenile I would say as his parsons collar is only a small tuft as yet.
Our peace was broken by the swimming pool alarm going off about mid afternoon. A neighbour came over ranting and raving about it. She had rung several people so I think I will be leaving it to her to deal with.
It has been very hot today and I could have broken in and had a swim quite easily myself.
Hope your New Year was/will be as peaceful as ours and lots of nice things happen during 2018.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.