Waiting for Rodda's New Year fireworks

As midnight approached on New Year's Eve we walked around the corner to our local pub, the Crown and Sceptre, which always announces the moment with very loud and vivid fireworks, courtesy of Rodda, the convivial and notorious landlord.

Rodda pushed everyone out of the pub into the street and onto the adjacent Daisybank, the  wonderful playground for the Horns Road community. Normally the fireworks are just lit from the pub garden, but this year the area was roped off so that no-one could be close up. I think Health and Safety has come into the reckoning, probably sensibly.

I have never been able to photograph fireworks well and despite some careful consideration of online advice, this year was no exception. But while I was standing waiting for the New Year's approach I tried testing out the conditions. Then I saw these two women with their drinks in hand standing in Horns Road, which leads into town, just outside the pub on the left. I rather liked the light from the street lamp and it at least has given me a blip.

After the raucous display which looked wonderful, we walked the hundred yards to our house with two friends whom we had invited to come round and crack open a bottle with us. they also brought two  ore friends of theirs who had recently moved into our street, so we were able to meet new neighbours at the beginning of a year.

I finally got to bed after 3-30am and felt surprisingly well! I wish you all a fine time in this new year, and hope prosperity and fun comes to all of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.