From a forest walk

We walked through the forest above the house again this morning - blowing away the  cobwebs after a late New Year's night which finished around 2.30 when we left John McNaughton's house down on the shore road. 

I thought I had my blip then for the moon amongst the clouds was spectacular ( I have used it as my first extra photo of the year).  But I took my long lens on the walk and there was lots to see which would not have been accessible without it.

This fungus is an example.  I tried to take a usable picture of it last week but couldn't get close enough as it sits high up in a birch tree well off the main track.   With the zoom the detail becomes clear as does the likely identification as a Birch Polypore, which has - apparently - lots of beneficial uses.

http://www.wildfooduk.com/mushroom-guides/birch-polypore-mushroom/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.