Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

No bad weather, only inappropriate clothes

"Let's go for a walk", we said; "it's New Years Day so we should blow away the cobwebs." Not that we had many cobwebs to blow away after a quiet New Year's Eve; there is normally a firework display in the village at midnight but if there was this year, it didn't waken either of us up.

"Let's go to Willen Lake", we said. "The paths round the village will be very muddy and the lake has proper footpaths all round so we won't get dirty and wet." So we agreed on Willen Lake.

"The forecast is good, with perhaps the possibility of a shower at lunchtime", we said. "Let's go now so we miss it; oh, hang on, if we wait a little while that load of washing will be done and we can put the towels on while we're out". So we waited. And put on the towels.

We parked in Willen Village and set off for our walk. The sun was out, but it did look a bit threatening over the Peace Pagoda. But we carried on; of course we did. We're British; if we decide to do something, we do it.

We got to a point almost as far from the car as we could be when the rain started. If you were indoors looking out you'd have thought 'I'm glad I'm not out in that'. We were out in it. We sheltered for a while next to a tree but there was no sign of it stopping, so we headed back towards the car. We were probably only quarter of the way back when we agreed we were wet through, and I mean that in the literal sense of the words. Water running down my legs having penetrated my trousers, dampening the unmentionables and soaking my feet. W was just as bad. I don't think I've ever been as wet in my life when I've not been wearing swimming trunks.

We got back to the car, drove home, dashed through the rain to the door and got rid of our wet clothing. And the sun came out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.