On the eighth day of Christmas...

My true love gave to me,
Eight sparklers a-sparkling,
Seven drinks a-waiting,
Six new books for reading,
Five gol-den rings,
Four degrees below freezing,
Three tumbling Santas,
Two Mummers Players,
And a fluffy cat sitting by a Christmas tree!

Saw the New Year in with bubbles and the Mexican/Spanish tradition set by my sister-in-law of eating a grape at each one of Big Ben's bongs, always gets the New Year off to a hilarious start! If you're interested in the background of this tradition, here's a link: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twelve_Grapes

Then in the wee small hours of this morning, I was out in the garden celebrating with the sparklers that I'd saved from Bonfire Night. Unfortunately I'd only saved seven so on the eighth day of Christmas I've had to be creative!

Another quiet, hyggelig day of books, films, candles and fizz... Once again, a very Happy New Year to you all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.