Hoppin' John

We always start the new year with Hoppin' John, a traditional Southern dish made from black eyed peas and rice. It is served with cornbread and 'a mess of greens', in this case, kale cooked with bacon. It is supposed to bring good luck for the coming year. It's a funny thing about traditions...they can quickly become superstitions, and I don't think this is the year to tempt fate...

I haven't made any resolutions this year, but I have learned in the last year that everybody has a story and that I am very interesting in hearing them. I look forward to all the journals I get to read on Blipfoto every day. One would think that I would feel like a voyeur, but I really don't. I feel like a good friend with every person whose journal I read. As Walking Wombat said to me, "we probably know more about each other than we do about some of our friends." 

I'm mulling over ways in which I can take oral histories in the coming year, and what I will do with them when I have them. 

I hope you are all getting off on the right foot for a happy 2018.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.