Fallen petals

Quite looking forward to having a better idea what day it is and eating more healthily. All familiar routines have gone completely out the window for the last 2 weeks.

Had a phone call at lunchtime to tell me my mother (badly managed diabetic) was currently at home with paramedics for the 3rd day in a row after her blood sugars plummeted and she was found unconscious on the floor by the dog walker. She is old and frail and has suffered many broken bones in the past from falling during a hypoglycemic episode. Once the paramedics had bought her round they wanted to take her to hospital. She flat refused. Seeing as she still has capacity, they can't force her. Similarly, in conversations with her Doctor, they also cannot force her to listen to advice on how to better manage her blood sugars or make her accept any help. This problem has been ongoing for all of my life. Most of my pre-teen friends first memories of being at my house was seeing me dealing with her...Which could be quite terrifying - She used to be really argumentative and flail around on the floor shouting and screaming. Later in life, upwards of 15 phone calls a day/night to make sure she has eaten and tested her bloods at the right time. Arguing that she clearly needed to eat something sweet whilst she aggressively denied this. Waiting till she was unconscious so I could put a glucose sweet in her mouth. Driving there at midnight to spend 2 hours bringing her blood sugars up only to have to be up for work at 6am. Sometimes several times a week. The stress was immense. I couldn't even go on holiday without it being the only thing i thought about and still making those phone calls all day every day, several times during the holiday having to coordinate an ambulance to attend her house. And pretty much 100% guarantee that any important event she went to, she stole the show by having a hypoglycemic episode. Both my weddings. My Sister's wedding. Pretty much every time she went to any occasion. I have given up worrying and given up trying to talk sense to her. She shouldn't be living alone any more, she can't cope and i feel she's just a ticking time bomb. She also always has and still denies there is any problem. At all. What can I do?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.