Tiny Tuesday - Ant Attendant

My Orchid Cactus or epiphyllum hookeri is going blooming crazy again even though it bloomed not so long ago. I think the warmer weather has prompted it to give it another go! :o).

I've missed the opening of about six blooms and there are around 6 more yet to open but because I'm on holidays and getting up just that bit later, well actually a lot later, I'm missing the last of the early morning time to experience the loveliness of these flowers. They only last a few hours at best and once the sun is strong they wilt away.

The local ants make a mission out of tending to the buds before they open and then they are in and out of the open bloom on the opening day. Even after its wilted down to almost nothing they are still in and out savouring every drop of nectar! I've put a shot of one of the wilted blooms in the extras as the pink stamen looked like a dancers leg to me ;;o))x

Thanks to Thisislife for hosting, hopefully you'll look upon the ant attendant as an animal for this week ;o))xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.