Horsey New Year

It was an equine start to 2018 as Leigh and I went on a muddy trot along the river and stumbled on this Falabella (I think?). We walked and neighed and brayed about the various political ills in the world in our usual self-righteous (me) and understanding (her) way.

Some allotment goers were being wholesome on New Year's morning and the air was peppered by cheery greetings between walkers. Before it absolutely tipped it down as our outing ended. Anyone whose hangover had delayed them would have been caught in the downpour, unlikely to have improved the mood.

2017 was odd. I am privileged to have spent so much time in South Sudan and to have learnt so much about a hidden part of the world. I am grateful daily for living in a nice flat in central Cambridge. The year was marred by generally disastrous global politics, a building rage at the clear rich and poor divide in the UK, and a heartbreaking tragedy at work.

2018 will likely see some changes with what I'm working on, and I'll pass my tenth anniversary with the same organisation. Life seems to get more unconventional with each year, so here's to more opinions and adventure. Starting on Wednesday :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.