Kray

By Kray

Back to work, and grateful

Back to work today for me after nearly 3 weeks off over Christmas and New Year. I went to bed a bit sad that my freedom was up and thinking about what I needed to start on at work and hoping I would not snooze my alarm into non existence and be late on my first day back. Took me ages to drift off to sleep.

At 3.30am I woke up with a start as Storm Eleanor crept through my window and yanked it wide open. As I got back into my warm bed after fighting to close the window I listened to radio. There was news of trees crushing cars, roofs blown in, Windows smashed, cars overturned and unsafe bridges. There ard hundreds of people with power cuts. There are scores homeless people trying harder to get through the night.

I began to feel grateful for these reasons:

My warm bed
My safe and secure house
The central heating clicking on at that moment
Not having a power cut so I could have a hot shower and a warm towel to wrap myself in afterwards
A hot breakfast
My car outside with a full tank of petrol for the week ahead
A job to go to
Three whole weeks off and a Christmas and New Year spent with family and friends

I got out of bed at 4.50am, fully content with my lot in life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.