Ice Worms

Dear Diary,

In my continuing series on ice I give you "ice worms"!  I have never seen anything like this before.  The ice was blown by the high winds and froze in this undulating form attached only at one end to a branch.  It certainly reminded me of a fat white worm.  I'm sure it was formed over several days.  Most peculiar. 

But then this is a most peculiar winter.  Our sub-zero weather continues but this morning it is "warmer", -8F instead of -25F.  A big storm is coming up the coast and depending on the track we are due for anywhere from 5 - 12 inches.  Oh, I do hope it stays east of here.  High winds will accompany it then we are back down into the deep freeze for Friday.

I will bundle myself up and go into town to stock up on needed things.  Winter is such a struggle in Northern New England and this year, with the arctic temperatures, it feels more like Alaska than Maine. My cold is a bit better but I pretty much have to ignore it now.  Things to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.