WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAY

I decided it was time to “hit the shops” and see if there was anything in the sales that caught my eye, particularly as I had some gift vouchers that needed spending. 

When I mentioned this to Mr. HCB last night, he said it would be good to go out together for a coffee, but he wasn’t that fussy about going shopping with me - how rude, but sensible!

We therefore compromised, which is what you learn to do after you have been married for 50 years!  We went to Jack’s, our favourite Old Town coffee shop where we met some of our friends and it was here that I saw the various bottles of alcohol behind the bar, which I thought looked quite colourful and would fit in well with the Wide Angle Wednesday challenge.  

I hasten to add that we are not really drinkers - although Mr. HCB does enjoy the occasional glass of red wine and many years ago, too long ago to remember, I had the occasional "snowball" - so this was purely for Blip purposes only! 

After a decent amount of time, I left Mr. HCB sitting there chatting to various friends and reading the paper, while I took the bus to a large shopping mall in the northern area of the town.  

I caught a different bus to the one I normally catch and as we went along a particular road, I was thinking about a lady I worked with many years ago so I was amazed when she got on the bus! We spent the rest of the journey and then ten minutes after we both got off, at the same stop, chatting about the years since we had seen one another - and it must be at least twenty - what a lovely coincidence - or was it?  I like to think it was a God-incidence and gave her one of my cards so that she had my number to ring me sometime so we could have a “proper” catch up. 

"It does seem so pleasant 
     to talk with an old acquaintance 
          who knows what and who you know. 
I see so many of these new folks nowadays, 
     that seem to have neither past nor future. 
Conversation's got to have some root in the past, 
     or else you've got to explain 
          every remark you make, 
               and it wears a person out."
Sarah Orne Jewett : The Country of the Pointed Firs

PS All I bought was food - healthy food! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.