ABSTRACT THURSDAY

For some reason I was awake quite a lot in the night, so therefore, was quite late getting up this morning.  I had a text from a friend that said “I know you are an early riser” - not sure where she got that from - as it’s Mr. HCB who is always up early.  It’s interesting that although I am going to bed earlier, and I have set my Fitbit to remind me at 10.45 p.m. that it is time I thought about going to bed - I don’t often feel the vibrating alarm that goes off at 7.30 a.m. and today was no exception.

As I walked downstairs, I noticed the light shining through a beautiful cut glass vase that is on the landing windowsill.  I’m not sure where this came from - and have been racking my brains since a friend said last week how beautiful it was - in fact, it may even have been one that was “gifted” to us when our son moved overseas, but wherever it came from, it is certainly a lovely vase to have.

As I took several photographs, I thought it would look better with another smaller vase inside it, so having done that I played around with it a little and this is the result - and I think it fits in well with the Abstract Thursday challenge.  

It reminded me that each facet of our lives, when touched by others, brings out something different - and allows something different to shine through.  When we are dealing with someone who is hurting, then our compassion comes to the fore.  If we have a friend or meet someone who is happy, then our smile multiplies that happiness and if we come up against injustice, then anger about it can often make us much braver than we thought we were, so that we get up and do something. 

One example of the latter is the fact that our 22 year old grandson went to Scotland on his own and was away for Christmas, the first one away from his family - but he didn’t just party and enjoy himself, he bought food and warm clothing and spent Christmas Day distributing these to any homeless people he found and then he paid for seven people to have a bed for the night and breakfast the next morning.  Definitely love in action and we are so proud of him and I’m sure many homeless people had reason to be thankful too.

It’s the daffodil season again, and I shall be buying bunches every so often and giving them to random people, and often chatting to them as well - not because I want people to say how good I am, but to show people that they are valued - and that giving is so much better than getting - how else are we going to show God’s love to people around us?

“Give freely to the world 
     these gifts of love 
          and compassion. 
Do not concern yourself 
     with how much you receive in return, 
          just know in your heart 
               it will be returned.” 
Steve Maraboli : Life, the Truth, and Being Free

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.