FLOWER FRIDAY

I’m sad that this rose 
     will never reach 
          its full potential 
as it stands frosted 
     in the wintry morning air
          oblivious to what 
               might have been
and even my warm breath
     cannot bring it back to life
          “If only.....” it seems to say. 

If only I had been braver
     and grasped the opportunity 
          in front of me…
If only I had
     not looked back…
If only I had 
     been myself…
If only I had
     opened up to someone…
If only I had moved on.

We can utter
     these two little words 
          “If only.....” 
               so often in our lives
                    but we cannot live by hindsight;
What's done is done
     and now we have to 
          be brave and 
               move forward
                    without looking back.

The rose bush will be pruned
     more buds will form
          then the flowers
               will blossom
And all the "If only's....." will be forgotten - 
     At least for the time being. 

How many more times will you say “If only.....”
     before moving on in your life?

©️ Maureen Iles 4/1/19

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.