Mortality

... musing on a dark night in Kendal on the way home
I do love blip ... the things it sets off....
As I walked back to the car this evening it was wet and windy but I was looking out for interest on my way and I was following these three girls for some time. They were bouncing along chattering away non-stop to each other. At first I was just wanting to get past and on my way over windy Shap summit and home but our pace was similar and in the end I fell back a little. I realised that I must have looked like a rather worn out world-weary bent over Lowry-like figure emerging from the factory gates, body aching and with just about enough energy to get to the car. I wondered at the contrast between us and of their skipping excited short steps full of their excitement of an afternoon spent in town and all their energy and enthusiasm. I wanted to take a photo but didn't want to seem odd overtly taking photos of girls on a dark night so I took this from the hip as they say (the other one managed to be a blurry one of the street light!). I was delighted to notice them and capture their moment of energy and I found myself wondering just when exactly I became an old fogey! 

There must have been something in the air today. Earlier I had been struck by how my computer wire was swinging across the room as my manager was saying something about targets. It reminded me of a skipping rope and the school yard and playing sevens with a tennis ball. I saw the wall and could see myself clap and spin in between throws. My eye could still see the colour of the red brick and the mortar. I thought of my husband (he didn't skip as far as I know). What a strange thing our brains are. It's not that targets aren't interesting, of course not.

And then there was more talk on the radio as I headed home about planning for death. Yesterday it was advance directives and I feel I really need to start sorting something out on that score. Today it was about the cost of funerals and I was so glad we had done his without any funeral directors, just as independently as we had completely done our own wedding. At these times we are so shell-shocked we can fall in to following the norm. Don't let anyone tell you that you need to have funeral directors if you don't want to use them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.