White Flower

The church was decorated with sprays of white flowers. When the coffin was brought in there was an arrangement of white flowers on it. I had hurried along the main street in Kendal to attend the funeral of a school friend's mother. She had lived a good life until the age of 93. Her daughter was not so lucky! Janet also died in 2017 but I had missed the notification and her funeral in Liverpool.

I felt that by going to offer condolences today, I could express my sadness about Janet's death to her brother. Although just a young boy when I was at school with Janet, he came straight out with my surname when I showed him a screen shot on my phone of my 12th birthday party with his sister. (Other attendees like seeing the picture, too.)

I had to choose somewhere to sit with my cuppa afterwards and chose to join another lady on her own. We were soon joined by a friend of Janet's from her teaching days. Janet had mentioned me to her in her very ill months. Her daughter had been with Janet as she died and had played her Leonard Cohen on her phone during those last hours. Who'd have thought we would both be LC fans? We'd never heard of him when we were at school.

The next surprising thing was she asked me what I was doing next. I said I was meeting up with hubby and bro-in-law to go to Beetham Nursery for lunch. That had been a favourite place for Janet to take her mum! I got the shot of the Hellebore there.

After postponing my birthday celebrations from yesterday to today, we ended up in Lakeland Ltd after all, then back to to The Wainwright in Keswick for an evening meal. 

A full day but I managed well. It was very nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.