Before My Time #1

The Bro-in-Law, Kanyl, gave me inspiration for a series of blips. He started looking around the house for things older than himself and just having had a birthday, it seemed appropriate to start the new year off with, perhaps, a weekly item even older than me, that has meant something to me.

If I subsequently part with any of these items, at least I will still have the image and the story.

#1 Rum Butter Dish: This pressed glass bowl is something I've cherished, even though it isn't as valuable as the cut glass things I own. During my childhood it had one main use: to hold rum butter at Christmas! My gran made lovely rum butter and it was great on her warm scones. To keep my weight down I try not to eat too much sweet stuff but I do think about that taste and texture when I handle this bowl. This week it's use has been to contain menthol cough sweets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.