Del Toro

Guillermo del Toro's special exhibit was on at the Art Gallery of Ontario in Toronto and today was finally the day that we got to go see it.  My entire family loves his work so it was wonderful to see some of his creations, storyboards, sketches, etc.

The lighting in the gallery was typical for drama....a reddish-orange tone.  Rubbish for photos so I had to play with settings to be able to capture what I wanted.  My main blip is the first photo I took when adjusting the manual settings.  I remembered that Markus_Hediger has a little challenge on and I thought (by accident), it would be perfect for the challenge.

In extras, Hellboy, is my daughter's favourite del Toro creation and movie.  I am not sure how old she was when she saw it for the first time, but she watched it on repeat for weeks and weeks.  (So happy that phase is over....) About 6 years ago, we got to see Ron Perlman at a Fan Expo and she was smitten (odd but true).  He did not do Frankenstein but he was inspired as a boy and has this massive head mounted to a wall in his home (apparently).  It must be 6 ft tall...incredible detail.  Poe was another inspiration and an entire room was dedicated to Poe, including this marvellous wax figure. I think the wax figures were all superior to Mme Tussaud's. 

After the gallery which is always a pleasure to visit, we walked through Chinatown. I could put an entire album on here of street shots today. It was a great day with my two favourite people  : )

Now we are headed into a deep freeze within a deep freeze.  It will feel like -40 C this weekend at times.  Thank goodness I am Canadian  ; )  But joking aside, I feel for the people who do not have a warm home and warm food at times like this...

Thank you for stopping by...I do try to keep up but I don't seem to be doing so well at it, at all...

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.