#100days - 88: blipping in transit

Lots of things happened in 1988 that convinced me it was time to get on with my life, but nothing I can easily represent via a blip while in transit - hence the 88 made of coins.

The big influence was my mum dying, claimed by that utter bastard cancer. I was working as a hack for the New Zealand Herald at the time, and had forewarned my bosses of what was going on. I got the phone call while at work and told the chief reporter of the time what had happened.

He offered no sympathy, not a single word of comfort. All he said was, when would I be back.

That was the moment I knew I didn't want to be a reporter anymore. I spent the next 15 months earning and saving every penny I could to leave NZ in search of new opportunities.

My home country has changed beyond recognition in the 30 years since. One day, I plan to move back. But not just yet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.