#100days - '87: Sign o' the Times by Prince

Released in 1987, Sign o' the Times is probably my favourite Prince LP. It's a double album, with a huge range of styles across 16 tracks and some amazing songs. His old band The Revolution appear a few times, but several cuts are Prince flying solo, being the amazing musician he is. The live concert film that followed the album is also pretty great, especially the mashup of Forever in My Live with It.

Today's blip features the heart-shaped sticker that was on my front of my original double CD edition [the LP has no title on its front cover]. The sticker came off last year not long after Prince died, but I hung on to it for sentimental reasons. I was living in the NZ city of New Plymouth when I bought the CD, working part-time [alas, not at a five and dime] at a record store and during the work as a reporter for The Daily News.

Went to see The Last Jedi tonight, put me in mind of a certain lyric:

Baby make a speech, Star Wars fly
Neighbors just shine it on
But if a night falls and a bomb falls
Will anybody see the dawn
Time, times...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.