Determined to go for a walk

I actually quite enjoy swimming in the rain. The water temperature was lovely and there were only three of us in the pool.

However, I really fancied a walk and top of my list was a visit to Shugborough. The forecast was for it to brighten and to stop raining.

I set off later in hope, however, it was dull and drizzly.

I was determined and I set off. Intermittently it actually rained, but I walked from the car park to the Essex Bridge (more comfortably than when I last walked it). The river was so full and fast that there was no chance of seeing the kingfisher there, so I went back via the Chinese House and the willow where the gardeners had said he might be.

It then started raining, quite heavily. I took shelter on the terrace of the building and my blip is this angle which I would not normally choose.

It eased. I walked to where the buggy was parking and had a lift back to my car. I was thrilled to feel that I could have walked back if I’d chosen.

I love Shugborough when it’s quiet - but maybe the only way to enjoy this is in the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.