DancingAly

By DancingAly

Pacific Beach

Another day, another 3:30am wake up....! I don't really mind, I feel well rested and quite enjoy the peace and quiet that comes from the pleasant meandering of the internet with a cup of tea before the rest of the world wakes up ;-) Plus with the 8 hour time difference, the people I want to talk to are already half way through their day ;-) It's like here by about 6:45, and the hotel is very cosy. The beds were seriously comfortable, better than my own! 

I almost forgot it was Christmas Day, which was sort of the plan. After I was up and ready, I went to the lobby to find out which places were open. I expected it to be quiet, but loads of places were open as normal and they gave me some recommendations. Woody's, which I went to yesterday was shut, so I ambled over to World Famous, the restaurant next door to the hotel. Outside the air was cool but it was sunny and still far warmer than home. And everybody was out as normal, walking, jogging, cycling and tossing footballs and frisbees on the beach! It's a seriously nice place to be for Christmas! 

The breakfast was a little disappointing, but I ate what I could and then went off for a walk. PB seems quite big, and I didn't explore it all, but I walked along the coast towards the pier, and then turned off to go further into town. I expected a lot of stores to be closed, but most were open so I headed back to CVS to grab a few more groceries! 

I'm happy not to go out at night- partly because I don't want or need a proper evening meal, and also I suppose because I'm technically alone! But it worked out well because I was really tired by the afternoon and more than happy to go to bed by 8pm after the very early start!

I  saw a guy using reeds to make bouquets and hearts as I walked past, and asked if I could take a picture. He happily obliged, and noticed my accent ;-) 

In the afternoon I decided to read my book out by the pool for a bit and then went for a swim. The pool is heated but it was still on the cool side, probably because being by the ocean there was a bit of a breeze. But I got to swim alone, and then went into the delicious and welcome heat of the accompanying hot tub which was every bit as good as I'd hoped! 

I read for a bit upstairs in my room, before changing and going for another walk along the boardwalk, this time in the opposite direction. To the left of the hotel the street is lined with fancy looking houses, no doubt rented for vacations, but really beautiful and very much like what I'd seen on TV shows. I found a little place that did the most amazing smoothies, so I grabbed a strawberry and banana one and enjoyed it whilst I walked on the beach.

The sand is really lovely- maybe as I've only ever seen dirty Spanish beaches! No cigarette buts to tread on, no glass to cut your feet on- it's just lovely. I couldn't believe how many people were paddling and swimming in the ocean. Lots were in wet suits but lots were not. I enjoyed watching the sun setting and snapped lots of pictures and videos to try to capture it all, before wending my way home. 

It's dark by 6pm, so I was happy to relax and call it a day. 

Such a beautiful place, and after such a rubbish Christmas day last year, I can happily say I spent it peacefully and enjoyably, swimming, sunbathing and being around people who were equally as happy to be there as I was :-)

Starting to think I don't want to go home, save for 'my' people.... ;-)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.