Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Last trip to town

Blipping this on 4th January. (Just!)

A very busy and non-stop day starting with doing a bit of a clean before packing the big cases to get an idea of how much we can take back. It all seemed to be looking fine, so we got ready to go into town: bank, a few shops, a few more shops and finally back home again.

Quick lunch, and then had to earnestly try to do as much as possible to finish packing and getting ready to leave the place. Our friends David and Eileen help us so much on this front; I don't know how we'd manage without them except I guess we would have to find a way!

Easy journey to the airport and filling up with petrol. Dropping the car off took a bit longer though, but we got there. This was mainly due to having one extra bag to manage, which meant travelling on public transport would be a problem. AVIS, I have to say, have superb customer service, and allowed us to drop the car off to their main depot rather than Terminal 5, so we were able to access their free shuttle service to . . . Terminal 4!

A very strange terminal I have to say; none of the familiar shops, so I'm really pleased G packed a snack box! They did allow me to take my cough syrup though. I'd managed to get it down to 100ml by this time and what's more, the new syrup works wonders... does exactly what it says on the box.

Our flight took off nearly at its scheduled time. I love the Airbus A330 and its 2-4-2 configuration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.