Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Hazy

... the view from my window today. I wanted to record the day just as it was - hazy, humid, bleah! Nice to have the clouds especially as you can't see the top of Burj Khalifa, but today was challenging on many levels.

First off, getting a ride in to work, the engine light went off as G was driving and the car felt very sickly. The decision was made to drive back home and switch to the Volvo. That done, I made it in only 15 minutes late to find... my team seemed to have disappeared! No-one in sight, and Mai's desk had a box on it that looked like she was moving somewhere.

Found out that she is on holiday, the other lady was working from home, and my boss is still on holiday! Communication is great here. I supposed if I'd checked my emails yesterday, I would have at least known of one of those three; and the boxes everywhere? We are moving down to Level 19, and the Life Sciences division are moving up, so I will soon be losing this view. NO idea where my new desk will be but I doubt very much I'll be near a window.

The rest of the day was better. I worked from home for a bit in the afternoon (seeing as I was OMO), and G & Marja talked about fashion. Marja leaves Dubai tomorrow and we helped her get rid of the last things from her apartment - mainly food. The best part of the day though was having a home cooked meal with her with the special bottle of Prosecco I brought back in the summer. (It was also the only one that was chilled).

I am amazed at how well I've coped with the day i.e. jetlag. I was expecting to really struggle through it! Hoping for the same tomorrow then...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.