But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Temple Reindeer.

It was my turn to lead the run to Temple today and the village hall is always warm and welcoming.  Whenever we visit it is decorated with some sort of handicraft; this time there were two of these creatures that seem to be reindeer and will, presumably be replaced in a few days’ time. We did notice that the villagers have raided the communion wine stock to liven up their New Year party (see extra).
 
The day had started with snow, so I rode to the start along the cycle path that formed the first part of the planned route. While it was fine for the trike, it wasn’t so clever for those on what trike riders call “falling over machines” and, to prove the point, our secretary had chosen to use the same path to get to the start and fallen off. Not wishing a repeat experience, she led the other five ladies back to their cars and they drove down to Musselburgh for a run along the East Lothian coast. There is the point of view that we should do that for all the winter runs as the weather is so much warmer there; in fact, it used to be known as “The Garden of Scotland” a century or two ago.
 

No sooner had we left Temple than I had one of my very rare punctures. I told the others to continue and I would catch them at coffee. I took the tyre off but could find no reason for the failure so simply replaced the tube, a remedy that always leaves one feeling a little insecure. Sure enough, ten miles later I had another of my very rare punctures with, again, no apparent cause so, since there was a convenient puddle to help me find the hole, I plugged it and reinforced it before reassembling. Discretion suggested that I should return home by the shortest possible route. At least the forecast rain held off until I was on the move again, and the tyre held for the rest of the ride.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.