Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Robbie found!

Robbie had been missing for three weeks, having escaped from my flat, although I still don't know quite when. I had been very distracted that evening because of something that happened at work and I must have let him slip past me, something I had never done before. It took me a while to realise he was missing as it didn’t occur to me initially that he might not be in my flat.

I had a call in the afternoon from a kind lady with a cat under her shed who she thought was Robbie - and it was! She had seen the posters I had put up. I had to call the SSPCA out to get him out from under the shed, they were brilliant, he then went briefly to my vet and was later at the PDSA hospital overnight to get IV fluids into him. He was extemely thin and quite a mess, poor thing with his beautiful fluffy coat wet and very dirty and a red raw sore behind. He had gone some distance - maybe 1/4 mile, crossing a couple of streets.

I feel amazingly lucky to get him back. I hadn't given up hope but had had some bad times when I thought I would just never know what had happened to him. At other times I told myself that there was still hope because no one had found him dead and I had carried on putting up posters as it was better to be doing something than sitting at home thinking about things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.