S_B_n_2cats

By S_B_n_2cats

The Getty Center gardens

Hi.

The plan was this: B would drop me off on his way to work just as the centre's doors open in the morning and I would spend the day there exploring. Then I could make my way to B's work (not too far away) or he could pick me up depending on the time. Basically, we decided what to do in terms of transportation. I did not, however, plan what to do once there. 

I knew I wanted to visit the Photography in Argentina 1850-2010 exhibition and the Golden Kingdoms: Luxury and Legacy in the Ancient Americas exhibition. I had seen advertisements and they looked interesting. Since I thought there was plenty of time to see everything I wandered into the other exhibits too and I am extremely happy I did. I managed to visit three of four exhibitions plus a segment of the permanent collection, the garden (in the photo) and the sculpture garden. 

Here's where my lack of planning was evident. There was one exhibition, The Metropolis in Latin America, that I thought I could squeeze into this visit, but there was no time and I didn't want to rush through it. This exhibition closes on Sunday (yes, I should have checked first). This means I'm going back this weekend. I'm excited to share this second visit with B.

The surprise of the day was the Making Art Concrete exhibition. Mostly Abstract geometric art which I really enjoy. 

The views of Los Angeles and the Santa Monica Bay are great. Unfortunately, I could see the yellowish cloud of pollution, argh. 

After the museum, B and I were both hungry and stopped a pizzeria where a slice of cheese pizza saved us from a hunger headache on the way home. 

A very happy Wednesday!

PS. About the photo: The task for this week is Vision: Look Ahead, but this photo is mostly about composition. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.