The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Tidal mist

From my high viewpoint on the Knott, the tide of mist was lapping around the low whaleback limestone hills of Arnside & Silverdale. There were no ravens cronking this morning, but I heard my first fieldfares, fresh in from Scandinavia, chack-chack-chacking in the yew trees. Another sign of the advancing season was a massive murmuration of starlings wheeling over the Knott and heading across the Kent estuary. I'm not sure where they had roosted last night, but clearly it is time to go hunting for a shot of a big pulsing evening flock. Have they arrived in Leighton Moss yet, I've not seen any reports?

It was a difficult blip choice tonight because after my walk over the Knott I headed down to the estuary at Storth, and the pastel colours and mist over Whitbarrow gave the landscape the feeling of a dreamworld.

After that it was back home to carry on with the exhausting task of cleaning the paving of the green slime. The garden and paving have succumbed to the opposing forces of entropy and photosynthesis: maintaining a semblance of control over the process has been beyond us this year, and reestablishing order in time for winter is a major challenge.

Thank you for all the stars and hearts for yesterday's - very much appreciated. I will try and catch up as the week goes on, though tomorrow I shall be out of blip range on another visit to London. I still have some Sicily backblips to go on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.