The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Clawthorpe

I needed some fresh air after work today. It was a day of non-stop meetings, with no time for lunch or a walk, so I headed for Clawthorpe Fell for a stroll across the limestone pavements. It's so long since I have been up on this big limestone hill to the east of the M6, that I had forgotten just how good the pavements are up there. That said, this photo shows the scar edge, with big, blocky limestone clints and a sycamore growing in a grike in the pavement above.

First thing, I visited Pip and the other chickens this morning. Archie the cockerel is one of the first out, one of the smaller hens was a bit reluctant to leave. And when she finally did, I realised why - Archie's a bit of a thug and has his wicked way in the most brutish way. I was glad it wasn't Pip that was receiving his unwanted attentions. Afterwards, he crows in a triumphalist way.

Speaking of cockerels, tomorrow is an important day for those of us who can claim Welsh genes, as our team takes on the French. Let's hope Wales can do what England failed to do last weekend. They've had a good run so far, so they should give France a good game. There's just a glimmer that the heyday of Welsh rugby that I grew up with, the days of Gareth Edwards, JPR Williams and Phil Bennett might come again. Or will the cockerel crow?

ps A covey of common partridges takes the year list on to 146.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.