The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Traveller's Joy

Like yesterday's blip. this was taken close to Jenny Brown's Point near Silverdale on a day when the cloud cover only rarely broke. I was there again early in the morning in the hope that the sun might peep through between the horizon and the layer of cloud. It didn't.

I think this is a very old railway wagon that has been used as a sheep shelter in a small paddock next to the road to the Point. This use has long been abandoned, and it is rusting and decaying away while being overgrown from below by nettles and from above by our native liana, Traveller's Joy (Clematis vitalba). Traveller's Joy is exuberant along the lane. draped over many of the trees and shrubs, yet here it is close to the northerly limit of its range in Britain.

I have been to Jenny Brown's perhaps a 100 or more times over the years mainly looking for birds, but I have never noticed this structure before. That's the influence of Blipfoto. Even if I had noticed it, I wouldn't have conceived it an object of beauty worthy of a photograph. Today's the Day thinks I am becoming arty-farty, and perhaps she's right. Tonight I went to the opening of the Traces of Barrow Exhibition, where a few of my pictures of Barrow were exhibited. These were distinctly arty-farty, but I really liked them.

Anyway, back down to Earth. We spent the rest of the morning finishing off the garden works started on Monday. So hopefully Wifie will be suitably impressed by the progress that has been made while she has been in Italy.

There is a detail posted here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.