GracieG

By GracieG

A Blast From the Past

I was writing a letter to my old school friend D this morning.  We were friends from the age of 13 onwards, and went through all the agonies of which clothes and make-up to wear, where the best disco was, what dance was everyone doing, and of course the first boyfriends.  We would sit up in her room listening to Mark Bolan, David Cassidy, The Osmonds etc. getting ready to go out to the local youth club, giggling, chatting non-stop, borrowing each other’s nail polish or perfume and generally having a good time.
It was while I was thinking about those days that I remembered that I had kept some teenage magazines from around 1973, we used to pour over them every week/month, noting all the fashion and beauty tips and reading the ‘problem pages’ with great relish. 
I don’t know if any of you remember ‘19’ magazine and ‘Petticoat’ but the blip might jog your memory.  Some of the adverts are quite amusing now, so I’ve included a photo of some in the extra.  I particularly like the trendy chap reflected in the young lady’s sunglasses, whilst she sips her ‘Babycham’!
Those were the days! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.