RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Experimental Photography 8

I made the resolution this New Year to work harder on my photography skills, learn new techniques, and push myself to be more creative. The experimental photography challenge turns out to be the perfect opportunity to expand my boundaries. I have to say, intentional underexposure was not a comfortable thing for me. I like a full range of tones in my images, but this challenge has forced me to shoot things in a new way. I spotted these fern leaves, with their white bumps, at the start of the challenge. I thought they would work well, but I have had to photograph them every day in order to get a shot that approximated what I had envisioned. I learned that this type of photo works better with sunshine (something we have an abundance of fortunately) and some strong side lighting. I learned it creates some graphically interesting images. I learned it is not something I am very good at, but something I need to keep practicing. Thanks Markus for getting the creative juices going this first week of 2018.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.