CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Mann's court, near Sheepscombe

This morning I went to buy some special bird food from the farmshop near Bisley and supplement that with some human food too, namely wonderful leeks, cabbage,cauliflower and courgette. The sky was deep blue with few clouds but the wind from the north kept the temperature down and in places the frost hadn't melted at all.

On the way home I went for a wander in the car, hoping to see something magical for a blip. Unfortunately the magic stayed hidden but I did enjoy exploring some little tracks and back roads around Cranham and Sheepscombe. I walked in Buckholt Wood and then went to the valley where the head of the Painswick stream springs out of the ground.

I nearly couldn't drive up this road as the water oozing from the springs froze across sections of the road, but just managed to keep traction. When I reached the top of the steepest section of the slope I saw this mossy roof of an old barn and parked at a small junction of two lanes. I walked back down to the barn and hoped for a spectacular view down towards Painswick but it wasn't that impressive.

When I reached the sunlit gate at the end of the barn, I was surprised to meet an elderly lady who was walking across her yard. We started a conversation and chatted for nearly half an hour. She lives there alone now her family has moved on and I think she relished being able to talk to someone. She did recommend the footpaths close to her home so maybe I will bring Helena up here one day when the spring comes and we can explore more. I expect that is we knocked at her door she would enjoy making a cup of tea for us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.