Swans On The Flood Water

I set the alarm to get up in time to get down to the river for sunrise (even though I went to bed very late) because there was frost forecast. Well, there wasn't any frost but there was a large temporary 'pond' on the flood plain with three swans swimming on it. And, yes - both I and my tripod were standing in water which was covered in a very thin sheet of ice. I'm so pleased I bought wellie socks..... Unfortunately, my tripod left one of its feet buried somewhere in the mud!

The rest of the day was spent with the family - I cooked a big Sunday roast using some of the meat that I had frozen from the turkey and gammon we ate at Christmas. It was still nice and moist, even though it had been frozen - I guess the trick is not to leave it in the freezer for too long. And then a homemade mince plait because I had a jar of mincemeat still untouched. All very lovely.

This evening, I've been to church. You may remember that I mentioned a month ago that the church had exchanged contracts on a piece of land. Well, three days ago, the purchase was completed, so everyone was super-excited and very thankful - so wonderful to have our own piece of land to develop, so that it will impact the lives of many, not just those in the immediate church!

As always, I am most grateful to you for stopping by in my journal and for all the great comments, stars and hearts you have left so generously - especially in the past week!


I hope you have a great week!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.