Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Desperate Times

It was 4 degrees F this morning at our house. By the time it got close to 10 I was pretty bored. So I went outside with some dish soap and a tiny bubble wand that came out of an old wedding favor that The Husband found in a dumpster at some point.

I think I'll try again some time, but look for a better surface for the bubbles to land on than the filthy glass table on the back porch that was covered with bits of dried mealworms that I'd put out there for the wrens and phoebes who hang out on the porch.

The extra is one of my favorite winter friends - the Eastern towhee (this one's the male). He's here all year, but he doesn't visit much in the summer. In the winter, however, he's often found stuffing his face at the café.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.