Acknowledgements

Just when I thought I would have to bestir myself and hunt down a blip, along came a thank you letter from my Elgin grandchildren. It is doubly nice that not only did they actually write but they (Anna,I suspect) made the card, which makes it all the more precious to blip.

My extra image is of the ferry reservations for our holiday in Orkney later in the year. Perhaps you can see the sneaky way I have introduced a day in Lerwick into the travel plans. His Lordship fails to understand my love of cold far off Islands, and to keep revisiting Shetland is a step too far for him.

We will sail from Aberdeen to Lerwick overnight arriving at 7 am the next morning, have the day there, drinking coffee with Lifeat60Degrees ( hopefully), visiting the museum, walking round the Knab and trawling the wool shops before we hop back on to the ferry at 5pm to sail south to Kirkwall.

We will arrive there about 11pm and stay the night in Kirkwall before travelling through to Stromness the next morning. Doing the travelling that way, I am hoping HL will hardly notice the detour; he is finding it hard enough to envisage 4 weeks in Stromness although in the event of a meltdown, he has been given a let out clause to go home and be alone in Edinburgh.

I dare not confess to him that FairIsle is on my bucket list. I dread to think what is on his list, but whatever it is, it is he who has to organise it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.