The life & times of Jacks

By Jacqueline

Looking Up

I love this city!

Tonight's image is on the commute home.  I left our building from the behind entrance which is the one I take when I use Monument station on the way home.  I thought this view of the Walkie Talkie was quite interesting and as I was on time to catch my connection at Euston I took a few mins.  These workday/evening shots are taken on Steve's old Canon Powershot s90 which I got him for his birthday in 2010 so the quality isn't great and needs replacing but it works for being handy and fitting in my laptop bag.

This morning's commute was really weird.  The 7:07 was ridiculously busy and somewhere between Bushey and Harrow & Wealdstone it almost all kicked off.

In the area by the doors there were a lot of people all packed in like sardines and there was a teeny bit of tension - not even 7:30am and everyone was already having a bad start.  I was nose in book and had a quite spacey position standing by the doors for the 1st class carriage but suddenly there was a bit of a grump and a newspaper was thrown over heads with some attitude (if a newspaper throw can be done with attitude).  Following this there was that general "man growl" and then someone clearly telling someone else to "calm down".  

This instruction was met with a raised angry voice:
"Gimme some f*****g space - Look at the space you got!"

To be honest noone in that packed train door way had any space so it was ridiculous at best.  With the raised voices, there were some nervous glances around the carriage in anticipation of trouble but it all blew over as quickly as it started.  

The thing with these commuter trips is you are where you are, just like everyone else you are doing your best to get there - people just need to chill out and remember everyone is in the same boat all trying to get to work/ where they need to be.

Saying that - would be nice if tomorrow morning has some space :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.