Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Book Club

At my house today.  Some cannot believe  I bought all the food.  No problem.  I did make “Hello Dolly" cookie bars. but that’s all.      We have collectively decided that 2017 was indeed a watershed year for events in our lives.  Illnesses, spouse’s illnesses, moving out of lifetime houses, trying to do something with all the “stuff”, trying to balance or review life goals …it all seems so different from our past many years together..... all all too sudden! 


The book was “Sisters In law” by Linda Hirshman… in the extra, discussed by R, who has sat in our our US Supreme Court arguments in Washington DC.    It was much too “lawyerese”: for me (Hirshman is an aggressive lawyer too and I think didn't speak to us ‘laypeople” all that well..at least not to my brain)  but a fascinating gossipy tale about the 1st and 2nd women, Sandra Day O’Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg, (both brilliant in different ways ) ever to serve on the Supreme Court of 9 Justices. and in the end I’m glad to have read it (altho I had to google lots of terms) and we all knew exactly how it was in those days of discrimination against women in the workplace (Not that that’s over, by far).  However what I took away is no better confidence in what these 9 human beings can do in the highest court in the land.

Then H and I went to a 4PM basketball game of Nik’s only to learn that he was sick at the last minute and didn’t play.   Bummer.  But the team has made good progress.


However my favorite picture of the day is J and D….  These two have had so much happen.....it’s a photo of how much we mean to each other in these times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.