Optional Extra?

The pop uplid on on my kettle decided to pop up as and when it felt like it.  This obviously was not good and as the kettle was less than two years old we decided to take it back to the retailer.  As hubby had an appointment elsewhere I was the one to take the kettle back.   I  went to the service desk in the appropriate department and explained the problem.  The staff on the desk studied the kettle, then looked at the receipt, had a short conversation with a staff member from the department.  I was then told that the fault was not covered by the guarantee, so they could send it back but there would be a charge. When I queried why there would be a fee they pointed to  to the exclusions, these covered batteries, power leads, blades and whisks.  I looked back at them very calmly and informed them that the lid was an integral part of the kettle, I refrained from saying that it wasn't an optional extra. They then called the manufacturers service department.  I was then informed that they would send it back and it would take up to a month.  "So" I asked "what do I do in the meantime?"  They then informed me that I could take it to the service department myself, as it was in Chiang Mia.  I left with my kettle feeling slightly stunned.  When hubby arrived home and I told him my tale of woe he decided that the easiest thing to do was to buy a new kettle, which we did.  However, before disposing of the old kettle hubby was forced to take it apart for analysis,  the verdict was that as some plastic pins were broken it was actually irreparable.   We still feel a bit cross as it we feel that it should have been replaced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.