lynnjones7186

By lynnjones7186

Chiang Mai Street

Something went wrong yesterday,  I actually posted this shot, or thought I had, but obviously for some reason it didn't work.  Therefore, this is my second attempt at showing you this street in Chiang Mai.  The second hand book shop I use is on this street.  It is just off the moat and has quite a few restaurants and an Irish style pub.  We have tried a few of the restaurants down this road but don't have a favourite down here.  However, I do like the book shop.   New books in English language are both expensive and hard to find, so second hand books are a life line for me.  They  have a good selection of fiction as well as non-fiction.  There is also a selection of books in other languages.  

On Tuesday we had a lot of rain which caused flooding around town.  It was so bad that we actually had to abandon ideas of going out for dinner.  Fortunately we had eggs and I was able to get some bread locally, so we had poached eggs on toast with fried tomatoes.   We later enjoyed a bottle of wine whilst watching TV.   When I spoke to other people over the Wednesday and Thursday it became clear that we weren't the only ones on emergency rations.   Beans on toast being the other favourite.   

There used to be a wonderful little restaurant opposite us, very basic, but good food, unfortunately the owners left and the new owners close by 6pm and don't seem to open everyday.   Had they stayed open on Tuesday they would probably have got a lot of customers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.